Thanksgiving—a Table for Six

Think about this:
If you could have Thanksgiving dinner with the five people who have influenced you most as a writer,
who would they be and why would you choose them?

Here’s my list:

  1. God. After thanking Him profusely, I’d ask God why He chose me to be a writer and about His plans for my work. I’d also want to hear His thoughts about writing and writers—past, present and future.
  1. My Mother. I’d want one of her big, warm hugs and just to be with her again. Mom loved books and the sounds that words make. She taught me to love reading, encouraged me to write and offered valuable critique. I’m grateful that she lived long enough to see my first book in print.
  1. David Grayson, also known as Ray Stannard Baker. I’m inspired by his series of books about rural living in America. I would talk with him about his folksy writing style and his rich descriptions of life in the early 1900s.

“Thanksgiving is the holiday of peace, the celebration of work and the simple life… a true folk-festival that speaks the poetry of the turn of the seasons, the beauty of seedtime and harvest, the ripe product of the year – and the deep, deep connection of all these things with God.” –Ray Stannard Baker

  1. Erma Bombeck. I want a little humor at the Thanksgiving table, and who better to provide it than Erma? We share a dry sense of humor, and I’ve learned from her that humor, well placed and gentle, can lighten a topic that readers might otherwise find dull, dry or even disturbing. What fun it would be to hear her say, “Hey God, don’t be shy asking for more. I came from a house where gravy was a beverage.”
  1. Jean Hazelton. Mrs. Hazelton was my high school English teacher and the first teacher to notice my writing talent. I remember feeling embarrassed when she read to the class one of my humorous essays. She said that I had the ability to write well enough to be published. I’d like to thank her and to hear her say, “Jeannie, I told you so!”

There you have it, my favorite five.
Now it’s your turn.
With whom would you have Thanksgiving dinner?

_____________________________

Are you on Facebook? Check out my page where I post daily articles and inspiration for writers. And while you’re there, I’d appreciate it if you’ll click on the “like” button near the top of the page. Thanks!

_____________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration, thanksgiving, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

