Writers and Coffee

If you know me, then you know that I write with coffee. Coffee wakes me up. It plops down beside me at my writing desk and it tickles my muse. Well, maybe the part about tickling the muse is an exaggeration, but coffee is an essential part of my writing routine.

Coffee and writers go together like Dunkin’ and donuts. In fact, Dunkin’ Donuts along with Career Builder did a survey about which professionals need coffee the most. Guess where writers and editors come in:

Yup, right there at number 4. (I think our number is higher.)

How do writers take their coffee? Flavored of course!

I know this because when I go to a coffee shop almost every writer, myself included, is drinking some sort of flavored latte or iced coffee. 

And coffee sparks creativity. It has through the ages.

Johann Sebastian Bach said,
“Without my morning coffee I’m just like a dried up piece of roast goat.”

Napoleon Bonaparte:
“I would rather suffer with coffee than be senseless.”

Honore De Balzac:
“This coffee falls into your stomach, and straightway there is a general commotion. Ideas begin to move like the battalions of the Grand Army of the battlefield, and the battle takes place. Things remembered arrive at full gallop, ensuing to the wind. The light cavalry of comparisons deliver a magnificent deploying charge, the artillery of logic hurry up with their train and ammunition, the shafts of with start up like sharpshooters. Similes arise, the paper is covered with ink; for the struggle commences and is concluded with torrents of black water, just as a battle with powder.”

And Ralph Waldo Emerson gets it right:
“Coffee is good for talent, but genius wants prayer.”

Coffee. How do you take yours?

The Coffee Song ©Yvonne Lyon –

_____________________________

Are you on Facebook? Check out my page where I post daily articles and inspiration for writers. And while you’re there, I’d appreciate it if you’ll click on the “like” button near the top of the page. Thanks!

jan2015FB

_____________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

1 Comment

Filed under Fun

One response to “Writers and Coffee

  1. Linda Carlblom

    Cute post, Jean. I couldn’t agree more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

