5 Ways That Writers Are Like Crocodiles

49935_crocodile-jaws_u4otpkuoohegc34cxym6cgqbe3ncurxrbvj6lwuht2ya6mzmafma_610x457

Did you know that writers are like crocodiles?
They are!

Both are social.

Crocodiles are among the world’s most social reptiles, and writers are among the most social creative groups. Think about how much time writers spend connecting with other writers. And like crocodiles writers hang out in groups. Writer’s conferences, trade shows, book signings. When socializing face-to-face isn’t possible, crocs and humans both stay in touch through non-verbal communication. A crocodile’s subaudible noises create vibrations that send ripples and bubbles across the water’s surface. Writers send silent messages through social media: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google+.

Both are uniquely aware of and inspired by their environments.

Writers are great observers and eavesdroppers. In a crowded restaurant, commuter train, and even in the doctor’s office, writers listen and watch. They store away information that might show up someday in a quirky character or a powerful piece of dialog. Crocs are great observers, too. Their eyes, nose and ears set high atop their heads so they can be almost completely submerged and still hear, see and breathe. They use what they see and hear to— (well, you know).

I_18765Both can move really fast!

Crocodiles move incredibly fast, even when out of the water. When necessary, they can go from inactive to 10 MPH in nothing flat. Ten miles per hour? Big deal. It is when you consider that the average man jogs at about 8 MPH and the world’s fastest runner does, at best, about 28 MPH. All that aside, crocs and writers can move really fast when they have to.

Writers—can you say,
“DEADLINES”?

tumblr_lq6dv79oja1r0sb3ho1_400_5133ab83e087c36d2b550905Crocodiles and writers have tough skin.

Crocs are known for their thick armor-like skin, but a writer’s skin might be even tougher. A crocodile’s tough skin protects it from predators and a writer’s thick skin protects her, or him, from an editor’s red pen and a reviewer’s harsh words—

But not always . . .

Both species are especially sensitive.

Those bumps on a crocodile’s skin are filled with nerve endings and the tough skin covering them is more sensitive than the skin on a human’s fingers. A writer’s tough skin can be super-sensitive, too. Those rejection letters and bad reviews hurt.

Add to that a few crocodile tears and—

See, I told you so.
Writers and crocodiles have a lot in common!

_____________________________

Are you on Facebook? Check out my page where I post daily articles and inspiration for writers. And while you’re there, I’d appreciate it if you’ll click on the “like” button near the top of the page. Thanks!

jan2015FB

_____________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

4 Comments

Filed under Fun, Trivia

4 responses to “5 Ways That Writers Are Like Crocodiles

  1. This is such a fun article, Jean. I shared it on my FB but am not sure how to on Pinterest and LinkedIn yet…maybe you can do something from your end, like invite me on LI? Since I shared on FB, will that insure I’m following you?

    I just started my own blog/site and am getting into the swing of things online, teach a small writing class in N. Iowa, and will share w/others. So glad I found you!

    Gail

  2. Hi, Gail. I’m happy that we’ve connected, too. Thanks for sharing. You can follow my blog either by email or RSS. To post to Linked in, you can enter this URL there: https://jeanfischer.wordpress.com/2015/01/24/5-ways-that-writers-are-like-crocodiles.

  3. Hi Jean! I am coming over from Karen’s blog. Well, I never thought of myself as a crocodile, but I guess I should! Certainly writers like me, who are new to it all, need thick skins, but sensitivity to write. I related to that a lot.

    It’s nice to meet you!

    Ceil

Leave a Reply

