3 Reasons Why Writers Should “Google” the News

image_new.phpEvery morning before I begin to write, I “google” the news for articles about writing and books. I plug in key words (like “writer,” “writing,” “writes,” “books”) and select the News filter. Then I limit my search to articles published within the current week. I am never at a loss to find a plethora of writing-related articles. For example, this morning’s search led me to:

“Wander the streets of Paris to find homes of writers with N.O. (New Orleans) ties”

“13 of the Most Annoying Writers You’ll Ever Meet”

“Some Ancient Assyrians Ignored the Advent of Writing for Thousands of Years”

“The nourishing quality of books”

Why is it important to google current news about writing?

1. It expands a writer’s perspective.

Writers can get too comfortable in their own writing world. They need to step outside and see what’s going on in the broad world of writing.

2. It cracks open Writers’ Block.

Sometimes writers get stuck inside their own heads— writer’s block! Reading about writers and writing can break that block wide open and offer fresh, new points of view.

3. It inspires.

Writing is a lonely profession. Discovering what other writers are thinking and doing inspires creativity. Googling the news can also lead writers to writing events near where they live.

031af4755ae7cc1cd3e91b247a816b02Do I hear you saying, “But I don’t have time to Google the news!”  Then, let me help you.

I post links to articles on my Facebook page,

Jean Fischer, Writer/Consultant.

Head on over there and “Like” the page. Then check back often to see what’s new.

_____________________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

5 Comments

Filed under Facebook, Inspiration, Publishing Trends, Social Media, Tools for Writers, Uncategorized, Writer's Block, Writing Tips

5 responses to “3 Reasons Why Writers Should “Google” the News

  1. Love this – it’s so true. It’s important to know what’s going on this in this crazy world!

  2. I agree, Lisa. It keeps our thinking fresh. Thanks for leaving a comment.

  3. This is a wonderful idea, Jean! I am going to take your advice this week. 🙂

  4. I never thought of this. Thanks, Jean!

Leave a Reply

