Little Free Libraries—a Scathingly Brilliant Idea!

When I discovered “Little Free Libraries,” I hurried to tell you about them HERE. I wanted one. I REALLY wanted one. But the little boxes were pricey, and I didn’t know anyone who would build one for me. So, Little Free Libraries moved from my “I Gotta Have” list to my “Maybe Someday” list.

Well, guess what, friends. I got one! Yes. Yesterday my very own Little Free Library opened for business, and here’s how it happened:

There’s that old saying, “Where there’s a will, there’s a way,” and I was determined to find a way. I decided to contact the Dean of Students at our local Lutheran High School to see if maybe one of his woodworking students might be interested in an extra credit project. And do you know what? The Dean of Students just happened to also be the woodworking teacher. He was eager to help—so eager that he did most of the building himself while the kids observed, helped, and learned. They did an awesome job; don’t you agree?

library1

They used the building plans found on the Little Free Library website. The box is made of recycled cedar, and much thought went into weatherproofing. They even put real shingles on the roof. The school donated their labor and the materials, and in return I made a money donation to the school. My friend, Tim, did the installation. We added a little plaque on the front door in memory of my late mom, Betty Ellsworth Fischer. She would have loved the little library.

library2

My Little Free Library holds about fifty books on two shelves. I donated some of my own, I got others on eBay and at rummage sales, and a few author friends donated copies of their books as a way to market their work.

Now here’s the best part. Within minutes of opening, people were already using my Little Free Library. The first customers were two women out for a walk with their dog. One woman borrowed a book and returned with four of her own to donate. Then several other walkers stopped to check out the library, and I think they spread the word because after that neighbors began stopping by.

Little Free Libraries not only promote literacy, but they also provide a unique way to meet your neighbors and make new friends.

Would you like one? Then go for it! Remember: Where there’s a will, there’s a way.

________________________________________________________________________

Take a look at this humorous video someone made about their Little Free Library.

________________________________________________________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Little Free Libraries—a Scathingly Brilliant Idea!

  1. It looks great! Congratulations on making your goal a reality! 🙂

  2. Suzanne Swenson

    Very cute. They did a nice job! The fridge is a unique option. Maybe that’s a new use for old fashoned iceboxes of yore! Will have to keep my eyes pealed at antique stores.

  3. Thanks, Suzanne, for stopping by the blog and leaving a comment. We need to catch up outside of social media. 🙂 It’s been too long.

  4. Nicole

    The video is an entry for the Little Free Library Film Festival. There are more! http://bit.ly/LFLFilmFestival

Leave a Reply

