Book Review by Sixth-Grader, Lauren Koleszar

I love it when I get fan mail from kids, especially kids who are eager to learn. Recently, I received this email from sixth grader, Lauren Koleszar.

 Hello, my name is Lauren and I am in sixth grade. For composition, a writing subject, I need to write a book review. I have decided to do it on one of my Camp Club Girls books. One of them, Sydney and the Wisconsin Whispering Woods, is written by you. I’m leaning toward choosing this one because I recently finished it and I enjoyed it very much. While looking into the authors of my books I noticed that you would be the best to write about, for multiple reasons. I also thought that you may be able to give me some tips or pointers on this matter of writing a book review. I would very much appreciate your help, although I can understand that you’re busy. I suppose that if I remember Phillipians 4:13 then I’ll manage to do it, but, please, if you have any time at all for my matter, then please help me.

Of course, I had time! Lauren and I began a cyber friendship talking about the elements of good writing. Lauren is very smart, witty, and delightful to know. She worked hard to learn and incorporate my “tips and pointers” into her book review, and when she finished it she e-mailed me a copy.

With Lauren’s permission (and her mom’s) I want to share her book review here with all of you. Please click this link to go to the “Reviews” section of my blog and read Lauren’s review of Sydney and the Wisconsin Whispering Woods.

I know that Lauren will be stopping here to see her review, so to my new friend, Lauren: Thank you for writing an awesome review! You did a wonderful job, and I’m pleased to publish your writing on my blog.

5 Comments

Filed under Camp Club Girls, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Book Review by Sixth-Grader, Lauren Koleszar

  1. B J Woods

    Go Lauren! I am a retired school counselor and I love to see smart kids do great things. Keep up the good work!

  2. Lauren Koleszar

    I’m so gllad that you like my book review! I wouldn’t have been able to write it so well without the support of the author of the book, Jean Fischer! ♥

  3. Hi Lauren –

    I think you’re already a writer. You express yourself very well.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  4. This is a wonderful review, Lauren! I teach online writing classes for homeschoolers and I must say that you could certainly hold your own with the high schoolers! Nice work!

    Jean, thanks so much for sharing this with us. Have a great weekend everyone!

  5. Lauren

    Thank you all so much! This book review was so much fun to write and I am glad that you all enjoy it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

